SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA CIRCULAR TO PRACTITIONERS

No. 2 of 2024 30 January 2024

CHURCH SERVICE FOR THE 2024 LAW YEAR FRIDAY, 2 February 2024

I. FORM OF SERVICE

There will be an Ecumenical Service at St. David's Cathedral, Murray Street, Hobart at 11.00am on Friday, 2 February 2024.

2. ROUTE OF PROCESSION

The procession will move from the side of Church House (adjacent to St David's Cathedral) at 10.55am and proceed along the footpath of Macquarie Street and enter the Cathedral by the main entrance in Murray Street. In the case of inclement weather, processors should assemble in the Cathedral Cloisters, entry off Macquarie Street.

3. ORDER OF PROCESSION

The Hon Chief Justice Alan Blow AO

Judges and Acting Judges of the Supreme Court

The Hon Justice Peter Tree

The Hon Judge Sandra Taglieri

Registrar, Assistant Deputy Registrar

Supreme Court Associates & visiting Associates

Magistrates

Mr Malcolm Schyvens, President, TASCAT

Ms Yvonne Chaperon, Deputy President, TASCAT

Mr Richard Grueber, TASCAT

Ms Alison Clues, TASCAT

Justices of the Peace representatives

The Hon Guy Barnett MP, Attorney-General

Mr Daryl Coates SC, Director of Public Prosecutions

Ms Yolanda Prenc, Administrator, Magistrates Court

Ms Ginna Webster, Secretary, Department of Justice

Mr Patrick Lunn, Chairman, Tasmania Legal Aid

Ms Kristen Wylie, Director, Tasmanian Legal

Professor Gino Dal Pont, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania

King's Counsel, Senior Counsel

Ms Julia Higgins, President, Law Society of Tasmania

Mr Will Justo, Vice President, Law Society of Tasmania

Mr Luke Rheinberger, Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania

Mr Greg McIntyre SC, President, Law Council of Australia

Dr James Popple, Chief Executive Officer, Law Council of Australia

Mr Brett McGrath, President, New South Wales Law Society

Ms Cassandra Banks, Immediate Past President, New South Wales Law Society

Ms Francesca Beattie, Deputy Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania

Mr Tom Cox, President, Tasmanian Bar Association

Ms Emma White, Executive Director for the Centre for Legal Studies

Ms Susie Winter, Deputy Director for the Centre for Legal Studies

Senior Practitioners

Legal practitioners generally

Newly admitted practitioners

Tasmanian Legal Practice Course Trainees

All members of the legal profession are requested to robe. If robing, wigs are to be worn. Decorations and Awards will be worn. Church House in Macquarie Street (adjacent to the Cathedral) is available for robing.

Those in the procession are asked to assemble at the side of Church House, no later than 10.45am ready to move off promptly at 10.55am.

The Registrar will be responsible for ensuring that these arrangements are carried out. The Chief Justice would be obliged if the profession would carry out the Registrar's instructions. There are no parking facilities available in the grounds of the Cathedral.

4. <u>CLERKS, PARTNERS AND FRIENDS</u>

Persons not in the procession will be directed to pews by ushers supplied by Chambers. They should be seated before the procession enters the Cathedral.

5. HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR

Her Excellency the Governor and her party will arrive at the Murray Street entrance at 10.59am and will be met by the Dean and conducted into the Cathedral.

6. <u>SEATING ARRANGEMENTS</u>

These will be in accordance with the attached Appendix.

7. DEPARTURE FROM THE CATHEDRAL

Her Excellency and her party will be escorted to the Main Door by the Dean followed by clergy, Chief Justice Blow, Judges, Acting Judges, Associate Judge and associates. Otherwise there will be no retiring procession.

8. SPEAKER TO ADDRESS CONGREGATION

The speaker addressing the congregation is Max Jeganathan. Mr Jeganathan is a Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for Public Christianity, a former lawyer and political and policy adviser who was educated at the Australian National University and the University of Oxford.

P J Ikedife REGISTRAR

Pelloy

APPENDIX SEATING ARRANGEMENTS - ST DAVID'S CATHEDRAL FRIDAY, 2 FEBRUARY 2024

<u>LECTERN</u> <u>ALTAR</u>

1	Governor's party		Cathedral Use
2 - 4	Chief Justice Blow; Judges, Acting Judges; Justice Tree; Judge Taglieri	2	Attorney-General Secretary, Department of Justice Administrator of Magistrates Court Prof Dal Pont, UTAS
5	The Hon WJE Cox AC RFD ED KC Registrar Assistant Deputy Registrar	3 4-6	Judges' spouses King's Counsel/Senior Counsel President & Vice President, Law Society of Tasmania Executive Director Law Society of Tasmania President, Law Council of Australia CEO, Law Council of Australia President, New South Wales Law Society Immediate Past President, New South Wales Law Society Deputy Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania President, Tasmanian Bar Executive Director & Deputy Director, Centre for Legal Studies
6	Associates (Supreme Court and visiting Associates)	7 - 9	Senior Practitioners Practitioners in Procession
7 - 10	Magistrates Mr M Schyvens, President, TASCAT Ms Y Chaperon, Deputy President, TASCAT Mr Richard Grueber, TASCAT Ms Alison Clues, TASCAT Mr D Coates SC, Director DPP Mr P Lunn, Chair, Tasmania Legal Aid Ms K Wylie, Director, TLA JP representatives	10 - 15	Newly admitted practitioners
11-	Senior Practitioners		
12	Practitioners in Procession		
13 – 15	Practitioners generally, clerks, family & friends		